Harper Lee Award

2017 Harper Lee Award recipient Brad Watsonn.

The Harper Lee Award for Alabama's Distinguished Writer of the Year is an annual award, established in 1998, to recognize the lifetime achievement of a writer who was born in Alabama or who spent his or her formative years living and writing in the state. The award, presented annually by Alabama Southern Community College at the Alabama Writers Symposium in Monroeville, is named for Harper Lee, whose novel To Kill a Mockingbird has sold more than 30 million copies. It is made possible through a generous grant from George F. Landegger, Chairman, Parsons & Whittemore.

See guidelines for the Harper Lee Award.